Flower Power

Flower Power

Script and direction: Jerzy Bielunas
Based on poems by Jacek Podsiadło and songs by Nick Cave, Bob Dylan, Guns N’ Roses, Jimi Hendrix, Mick Jagger, John Lennon, Amanda McBroom, Barry McGuire, Joni Mitchell and Frank Zappa

Lyrics translations: Jacek Podsiadło
Arrangements and musical direction: Mateusz Pospieszalski
Set design and costumes: Honorata Mochalska-Błachut, Anna Czyż
Video: Anna Szalwa, Daniel Kusak
Cast: Iwona Bielska, Kinga Preis, Anna Malek, Emose Uhunmwangho, Andrzej Kłak, Adam Nowak, Tomasz Organek, Mateusz Pospieszalski, Cezary Studniak, Robert Więckiewicz
Choir: Magda Śniadecka, Katarzyna Mirowska, Marcin Wawrzynowicz
Musicians: Mateusz Pospieszalski – band leader / saxophones, Darek Bafeltowski – guitar, Lesław Matecki – guitar, Łukasz Pospieszalski – pipe organ, piano, Maksymilian Mucha – bass guitar, Łukasz Moskal – percussion

An unsentimental tale of a time that was good and finished before the flowers ceased to smell, before the music stopped playing, before the memory of the summer of love had faded into the routine of rebellion and became its own caricature.

“Flower Power” is a history (diagnosis?) of escape from living according to the schemes and values imposed by “state and law.” In this poetic narrative about the search for freedom, songs are not necessarily “wise” and not necessarily “polite”, but well reflecting the state of mind of young people for whom the “old” world was not enough.

The base of the show performance are the poems by Jacek Podsiadło, a poet who never grew out of being a hippie, and never became a slave of illusion that “life aside” would be simple. Yet – he lives aside.

Foto: T. Walkow ©PPA